Dusting off the blog, setting a new purpose

*blows dust off blog*

*chokes and wheezes*

Wow, yes, I’m a very bad blogger. But that doesn’t mean I have to keep being a bad blogger, right? I just need a new plan, an actual blogging goal and purpose, and that will help me stay on track better.

What do I love talking about? That’s easy–books! I know there are plenty of book blogs out there, but one more won’t hurt, and we all love talking about books in different ways, don’t we? What I hated about a book might be what gets someone else reading a book, because that’s their jam and I just sold it to them. Or what I loved could be what someone else hates (I hope it isn’t).

I’m also all for setting a low bar that I can easily hurdle, because then I don’t have so much pressure when my time gets short and my deadlines get close. In honour of that, this is the schedule I will aim to follow:

  1. One book review per week.
  2. No minimum or maximum word counts.
  3. Review books I have things to say about, not just things I loved.
  4. Write more reviews each week if I want

See? Low, easily hurdleable bar, with room to do more if I want to. That’s achievable.

I read mainly SFF and romance. Some of the romance I read is queer, some isn’t, most of it is historical. Some of the SFF I read is queer, some isn’t, most of it is fantasy.

If you don’t read either genre, this isn’t the book blog for you. If you only read one of those genres, maybe I can entice you into the other. I hope I can entice you to pick up a few new things or a few old things that you hadn’t thought to try before.

Because books are the best and adding to people’s teetering piles of books to read is my mission in life.

Leave a Reply

