June writing round-up

Previously in monthly round-ups…

Total new words for June: 3,665

Yeah, you are not reading that number wrong. There were not many new words in June. My big plan to get the novel rewrites finished on the first weekend and then put it aside and play with fanfic did not happen.

Not that I didn’t work, but I’ve been rewriting and editing and rewriting so much of it. I’m one scene away from finishing all those edits and rewrites, at last. It’s the final scene of the book, which no longer fits with the rest of the book so needs a from-scratch rewrite. When you write a book with no firm outline and introduce a ton of problems with internal logic and weak character arcs, you get a mess. That’s my learning from this experience. At least the book that I’m getting at the end of this process is better than the vomit draft, but that doesn’t take much! Hopefully my first readers will be able to tell me where it still doesn’t work, because I’ve lost sight of it after all this.

The one concrete thing I did achieve from last month’s goals was editing and submitting a story to Lightspeed. Phew! That was the one I would have been annoyed with myself for not doing.

3k of my new words were on the fanfic project and the rest were a scene for the next book I want to write, jotted down to get the words out of my head. That’s…really not what I planned. And now I’m going to be rushing headlong to get the fanfic project done by my deadline, which has become the story of my summer over the last few years. Ah, well.

In an effort to make sure July doesn’t go totally off the rails despite Tour de France watching and a big visit from my sister, I’ve joined Camp NaNoWriMo. My goal is 25k, which would get me a long way towards writing that fanfic project.

That’s my goal this month. No other plans: 25k on the big fanfic project. Everything else takes second place in my priority list, even the edits.

How about you? How did June treat you, and what are your goals for July?