Wednesday reading, 1 June 2016

Last book finished: I did a lot of comics catching up, so there aren’t any prose books finished yet. I can highly recommend the final issues of Kelly Sue DeConnick’s run on Captain Marvel and the new writer is equally awesome, so don’t stop reading it just because Kelly Sue is gone. The current run of A-Force is great fun, too. Possibly the one that surprised me is volume two of Lumberjanes. I wasn’t entirely convinced by the first volume, but this volume hit its stride and I can understand why it’s such a big favourite now. I’ll definitely be getting volume three.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status. I’m thinking of assigning myself bribes. Maybe a Twirl Bite per page?

I’m a few chapters into The Great Hunt by Robert Jordan, and I’m realising how much I’d forgotten. Wow. It’s a really good thing I’m rereading before I read the WoT books I didn’t get to before, because I can tell that I would have been really lost if I hadn’t. I’m also remembering how many women there are in these books. After all the talk about how good Game of Thrones is for the number of powerful women, I’d like to point out that the Wheel of Time books are equally filled with women and they’re allowed to be fantastic without rapey backstories to trigger their awesome. How revolutionary! 😉

I found the first few chapters of Libriomancer by Jim C. Hines hard to get into, but something happened at around page 100 and suddenly I’m right there for this. I don’t know what it was that changed, it’s just working better in my head than the early chapters did. Let’s hope he sticks the landing.

Next read: I still probably won’t need another Kindle read for a while, thanks to Robert Jordan, but I’ll need a dead tree book. It’ll probably be Games Wizards Play or Ink and Bone, because they’re crying out from Mount TBR. I should also do some more comics catch-up. I’ve got a ton of Ms Marvel to read…

What are you reading this week, and would you recommend it?

