Wednesday reading, 18 May 2016

Last book finished: Er…I confess, I have not actually finished anything. My weekend didn’t result in as much reading as I’d have liked and all my Kindle reading has been fanfic this week.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status. I accidentally put a different book down on top of it on its new coffee table position. Clearly, moving it was a bad idea, so it’s back to its original position.

I’m still reading Vicious by V. E. Schwab, and it’s still blowing me away. More impressively, the book that I thought I was reading when I was loving it last week? Yeah, it’s not that book. It’s doing this thing where you think you know what the story is and who all these people are and how it’s going to end…and then she slowly smashes each assumption to pieces. It’s a far more interesting read than the story I expected to get, which delights me.

Next read: My library hold on The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin just came in, so that’s what’s up next. It’s never too early to start the Hugo reading! I’ve got a week off next week, so I’m anticipating plenty of reading time. As for my Kindle…my choices are so wide. I need to get some short fiction written, but I’ll probably take some time to wallow in comfort reading to contrast the Jemisin, which I’m told isn’t the easiest read ever. So either a historical romance or the next Wheel of Time book!

What are you reading this week, and would you recommend it?

