Wednesday reading, 11 May 2016

Last book finished: Her Every Wish by Courtney Milan. She’s become one of my favourite historical romances, so the likelihood of me not liking this was pretty low. This is a novella side-story in her Worth Saga series, so it’s not a long read. It also relies on the reader having read the first book in that series. Although Milan does a brief recap of who Daisy and Judith are, I don’t think someone coming to this cold would have the same affection for the characters that a reader familiar with them would, and that makes a difference with a book this short. There isn’t as much time to establish the characters and engage the reader with them as there would be in a full novel. I liked Daisy a lot already and was delighted to spend some extra time with her and learn about Crash through her. I might have found it more difficult to warm to her without that experience.

hew-smallThat said, it’s a fun novella and it made me smile a lot. Milan isn’t afraid to go into some deep ideas in her fun romances, and in this story, the most important plot isn’t the romance: it’s Daisy’s journey towards accepting and revelling in her own wishes and ambitions, rather than constantly thinking she shouldn’t have them. Most of that comes through her relationship with Crash, and that’s where the story’s heart is: Crash is a delight (with a velocipede!) and you want both of them to succeed in their ambitions long before the end.

This is also a historical romance about working class people, which is rare in the genre. Daisy and Crash will never discover they’re secret nobility or marry into money. Life doesn’t work that way for them, and Milan doesn’t shy away from that. It’s a refreshing difference from a lot of the books in the genre.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status. I moved it to a different position on the coffee table this week. Maybe that will help?

I started reading Vicious by V. E. Schwab and I’m already adoring it. Thanks to Cate for nudging me towards that one on Mount TBR! Excellent suggestion.

Next read: I’ve got a couple of library holds incoming, so they’ll probably be my priority on the physical book front. As for the Kindle…I don’t know. I think that I need to read some of my short fiction backlog before I start my next big read, so that’s probably where I’ll start tonight.

What are you reading this week, and would you recommend it?

