Wednesday books, 27 April 2016

Last book finished: A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab. I liked this, but I didn’t love it. Not in the way that I loved A Darker Shade of Magic, anyway. It took me a long time to get into the book, because it took a long time for the story to really get going. Around the two thirds mark, it finally kicked into gear and hauled me along to an ending that has me itching for the next book, which is what saved it from being a disappointment. I suspect it’s suffering rather strongly from middle book syndrome–hopefully the next one will be stronger.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status. I will read at least a page this week, I vow.

I’m also still working on Eye of the World, but as that’s a monster tome, I feel pretty happy to be halfway through already. And it’s every bit as good as I remember. Possibly one of the biggest delights is getting memories triggered for things that happened here and were referenced again in later volumes, so this reread is definitely paying off.

Next read:  I’m just about to pick up Mistress of the Art of Death, because it’s a library book that really needs to be read before it has to go back. I’ve run out of renewals. I may also take some mini-breaks from Jordan to read one of the novellas sitting on my Kindle. Courtney Milan’s latest should be a nice relaxing read, when my head gets too filled with Trollocs.

What are you reading this week, and would you recommend it?

2 thoughts on “Wednesday books, 27 April 2016

  1. I’m working my way through Jane Eyre & The Castle of Otranto. I find it takes a while to get into Jane Eyre and the chapters seem to take a long while to progress the narrative, but overall I quite like the story so far! – Judith

    Like

    1. I found myself occasionally wanting to shake Jane, but otherwise, I quite enjoyed it when I read it a few years ago.

      I read The Castle of Otranto a few years ago, having been recommended it as a good book to get me a feel for gothics before reading Northanger Abbey, without committing to something the length of Udolpho. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Completely bizarre and weird, but the action moved fast and it was great fun.

      They were right about it being a good pre-Northanger Abbey book to read. When I went onto it, I could understand the nuances much better.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.