Presenting…my Hugo nominations

The Hugo short-list will be announced on Tuesday and I bought my MidAmericon II supporting membership last night in preparation, thanks to a recovering loonie. A few weeks ago, I promised to post my picks after nominations closed, and with the official list so close, I should probably get onto that very soon.

Today.

So without further ado, I present the list of my personal nomination choices for this year’s Hugo Award. You can take this as a rec list of amazing stuff that you might want to check out, regardless of what actually ends up on the short list 🙂

Novel

  • Uprooted – Naomi Novik
  • The House of Shattered Wings – Aliette de Bodard
  • Updraft – Fran Wilde
  • Karen Memory – Elizabeth Bear
  • Sorcerer to the Crown – Zen Cho

Novella

Novelette

Short Story

Campbell

  • Ioan Sharma
  • Alyssa Wong
  • S L Huang
  • Sunil Patel
  • Zoe Sumra

Fanwriter

  • Sunil Patel
  • Mark Oshiro
  • Erik Flint
  • Natalie Luhrs
  • Jim C Hines

Fancast

  • Women at Warp
  • Verity!
  • Fangirl Happy Hour
  • Slash Report

Semi-pro magazines

  • Booksmugglers
  • Strange Horizons
  • Uncanny Magazine
  • Apex Magazine
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies

Fanzines

  • Pretty Terrible
  • File 770

Related works

  • An Archive of Our Own
  • Writing Excuses Season 10

Dramatic Presentation (long form)

  • Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens
  • Mad Max: Road Fury
  • Agent Carter Season 1
  • The Martian

Dramatic Presentation (short form)

  • Doctor Who: Heaven Sent by Steven Moffat

Graphic novels

  • Rat Queens Vol 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth – Kurtis J. Weibe

2015 was an amazing year for novels, and I ended up with a much longer list that I had to whittle down to five works. That was an incredibly difficult thing to do, because I felt that everything on my list was award-worthy and I loved all of them to bits.

If you missed any of these books last year, you should run out and find them, because they’re amazing:

  • The Aeronaut’s Windlass – Jim Butcher
  • Chimera – Mira Grant
  • Carry On – Rainbow Rowell
  • The Traitor Baru Cormorant – Seth Dickinson
  • A Darker Shade of Magic – V. E. Schwab
  • Prudence – Gail Carriger
  • Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen – Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Ancillary Mercy – Ann Leckie

The Bujold was a particularly difficult one, but in the run-up the close of nominations, the Hugo Award committee put out a lot of reminders about how a work is considered eligible in a given year. From what they said, even though Gentleman Jole was available as an eArc in late 2015, its official release date was February 2016 and that’s the date I went by. I’ll be nominating it next year, in all likelihood.

 

One thought on “Presenting…my Hugo nominations

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on this year’s Hugo finalists | stompydragons

Comments are closed.