Wednesday books, 20 April 2016

Last book finished: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire, which I loved. It wasn’t completely perfect: the need to get this in at the right word count for Tor’s novella range seemed to make the ending slightly rushed. But other than that, it was wonderful, and I still highly recommend it to everyone. It’s a book about the children who come back from portal worlds and the ways the adjust to this world–and the ways they never will. I loved the thought that had clearly gone into the consequences of portal stories. McGuire always finds the horrifying side to stories like this, which I appreciate because it’s the deeper, more thoughtful side, too.

This book also includes ace and trans MCs, which I rarely see, and the consequences of their portal adventures are particularly interesting. McGuire has announced there will be two more stories in this world, about characters I was really hoping to get more of, so I look forward to them.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status. One day. One day, I’ll finish it. I picked it up this week. Almost opened it. That’s progress, right?

I’m in the middle of two long reads right now. A Gathering of Shadows is back on the go, and I’m getting into it much better now. It took the story a while to get going, but now that it is, I’m there for it. I’ve also begun a reread of the Wheel of Time books, so that I can remember what happened before I tackle the final four, so I’m stuck into Eye of the World and it’s great. This could take a while, though.

Next read: I need to read Mistress of the Art of Death before it goes back to the library. And I’ve got some romance novellas on my Kindle that will probably be pulled out whenever I need a break from Wheel of Time. After all, I still haven’t read Courtney Milan’s newest.

What are you reading this week, and would you recommend it?

