Wednesday books, 6th April 2016

Last book finished: Uh, none? Well, not strictly none. I had to do a bit of a binge on graphic novels this week, because I had things due back at the library. I read Nimona and the first volume of The Lumberjanes, which were both excellent, although Nimona slightly edged out in front. I suspect that’s because it was a complete story and the resolution was so satisfying.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status. One day. One day, I’ll finish it.

I’m still loving A Gathering of Shadows, and resenting how busy the last few days have been for me. Hopefully this weekend will garner me some more reading time.

My plan to start the new Courtney Milan was put on hold when I realised that I realised that I’d probably better read A Seditious Affair by KJ Charles before I dig into A Gentleman’s Position. It’s absolutely brilliant. I’d been putting it off for a while because I knew that the relationship between Silas and Dominic included BDSM, which isn’t usually my thing, but now I can’t stop reading it. Hoorah! I should have trusted all the reviews, because they all pointed out that the kinky aspects of the relationship work because of the emotional relationship that has developed between the characters. It’s not a spoiler to note that we join them when they’ve been seeing each other for a year (it’s made apparent on page one) and the core of the book is the way they’ve both reached crisis points in their own lives and their relationship together. That’s an approach I haven’t seen much in romance, so I’m really appreciating it. The other aspect to the book that I’m loving is the way Silas and Dominic’s lives are so tangled in the politics of the time–1819 England–and the way that Charles twists all the pieces together. I’m genuinely flummoxed by how good this is, particularly after so many months of not quite daring to open it.

Next read: A Gentleman’s Position by KJ Charles downloaded to my Kindle yesterday, so I’ll be rolling straight into that after I finish A Seditious Affair. Heh. It’s probably a good thing that I’m still in the middle of A Gathering of Shadows, because Canada Post is being ridiculously slow at delivering Every Heart a Doorway, so at least I’ve got a good book to read while I wait. Grr arrgh and all that.

What are you reading this week, and would you recommend it?

