Wednesday books, 30 March 2016

Last book finished: Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear. It may sound weird that a book about a group of prostitutes in a steampunk Wild West parlour house made me squee with delight, but trust me. I did. The best way to understand why is to read it, but if you need more help, it includes: an F/F romance that’s beautiful; well-drawn, complex characters; a viewpoint character who comes to life on the page; steampunk!; dirigibles!; great plotting; pointed asides that are completely relevant to modern issues; did I mention the F/F romance? What I’m saying is, this book is fabulous and I highly recommend it.

(Trigger warning note: It’s set in a parlour house. Nothing happens on-page and the POV character, Karen, is never abused, but there is reference to things that happen/have happened to other characters off-page. If this may be problematic, please practice self-care.)

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status. One day. One day, I’ll finish it.

I started A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab last night (at last) and I’m sixty pages in and it’s going to be so very, very bad for my bedtimes. Lilah is always and forever wonderful.

Courtney Milan just released a new novella. Her Every Wish downloaded to my Kindle this morning. Hell yes, I’m starting it pronto!

Next read: The longer my good book roll lasts, the more worried I get that it will falter at some point. I’ve got preorders coming in the new few days, though, and they’re by trusted authors, so that’s got to work out. Right? A Gentleman’s Position by KJ Charles and Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire both drop on April 5th, and I am too excited for words.

What are you reading this week, and would you recommend it?

