Wednesday…er, Thursday reading, 24 March 2016

I know, a day late again. Yesterday was too busy to think, and this is one post that I never like to write up in advance. So, it’s Thursday. Woops. But my reading has been great!

Last book finished: Updraft by Fran Wilde, and I loved it. The world building is absolutely fantastic, and utterly critical to the plot. That’s the kind of fantasy I like–worlds where the plot is more than just window-dressing, it’s a part of what shapes the characters and drives the story. I’m so intrigued by this world that I’m impatient for the next book, just to find out more. You’ll understand what I mean when I read it. There is so much backstory hinted at about the world, and I need it. The characters were the other big flailing glee point. So many to adore. And some to love hating. And a couple of characters I wasn’t sure about until the end, because they didn’t fit easily into the good guy/bad guy camp, which is always good.

Honestly, it’s one of those books that I can’t stop flailing over. Highly recommended.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status. I did open it and read a paragraph. And then I had to go back and reread a few bits to figure out where I’d got to. Erm.

Sound the klaxons, I finally began Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear! Why did it take me so long to get here?

Right, inconveniently timed library holds and preordered books I couldn’t stop reading.

I’m sixty pages in and loving it already. It’s fantastic. Bear is an author who usually sticks her landing, so I have high hopes for this. And I’ve got a long weekend coming up to wallow in it properly.

Next read: I’m on such a good reading roll that I’m almost scared that I’m tempting fate whatever I pick. But I’ve had A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab for nearly a month and haven’t had time to read it yet, and trusted friends have reassured me it’s as good as the first book, so that’ll probably be my pick. After that…well, I’ve got some preorders scheduled for April 😀

What are you reading this week, and would you recommend it?

