Wednesday reading, 2 March 2016

Last book finished: Taking the Heat by Victoria Dahl.  My romance tastes usually lie more towards the historical or paranormal, but I’ve seen Dahl’s work recommended in a lot of places so when I saw this in the library, I decided to take a chance. I did miss the more external-events-as-plot focus of my usual genres, but I surprised myself with how much I enjoyed this. It was fun and fluffy at times, but there were some deeper themes about the faces we present to the world versus true selves and taking chances with that truth that I appreciated. I’m not going to hurl myself into an all contemporary romance diet in the future, but I’m probably more likely to try another now.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status. I read one page this week, which is one page more than last week!

I picked up Simply Magic by Mary Balogh (another unfortunate accident from the library) just before another preordered book came in, so I need to finish that first. Grr. On my Kindle, I finished a book just as Rag and Bone by KJ Charles released, so that was perfect timing and I’m already loving it.

Next read: I’ve really got to read Karen Memory for my Hugo nominations consideration before I start anything else. Must not be tempted to dive straight into A Gathering of Shadows. Must not. Even though a friend was tormenting me with it last night.

Too many books, not enough hours in the day.

