February writing round-up

Previously in monthly round-ups…

Total new words for February: 25,093

February is a short month, so beating January’s total was a complete surprise, particularly after my dismal start to the month with a couple of days of writing missed completely. I didn’t push myself, I didn’t write like a demon, but somehow I managed to write 5k more than in January. Even the extra day due to Leap Year can’t take the blame for all those words!

All my new words were on the current novel, so I’m doubly pleased, and it looks like I’m on track to finish that within the next couple of weeks. I’m currently writing the big action-packed chapter that ties up a lot of the adventure plot, and after that it’s just weaving together the other threads and writing the HEA and I’ll have a complete vomit draft done. I’m anticipating that I’ll be well over my 90k estimate/target, but as I know there are a lot of bits that need cutting and pruning, I don’t feel too worried about that. The good first draft should be closer to the right length.

After I’ve written “The End”, my plan is to take a couple of days off to decompress and let my brain recover a bit, and then I want to take out the superhero novelette that I wrote last year and whip it into better shape. At the time that I wrote it, I was vacillating between whether it was Serious Literature (TM), or whether I was writing an F/F superhero romance. As a result, I think that I ended up landing in a muddle. So my current plan is to rewrite a fairly good chunk of it, turning it into a novella, and really embrace its identity as an F/F superhero romance. If that doesn’t work, I can try it another way, but honestly?

I think that I like my current plan best 🙂

Why aren’t I diving straight into edits on my current WIP? I’m too close to it right now. I need to have a bit of time away from it so that I can see it fresh. Some people might be able to turn right around an edit something immediately, but I’m not one of those people. I’ll let it sit for a few weeks, make notes whenever I think of something I want to consider, and I’ll be able to think about it more rationally when I go back to it. If everything goes according to plan–a big if, I’ll admit–then I’ll be spending April kicking it into shape before sending it out to test readers for early feedback.

March definitely won’t be a 25k month, but it should be a productive month even if the word tally doesn’t show it.

How did everyone else find February? And do you have any March goals?

2 thoughts on “February writing round-up

  1. I don’t want to talk about February. It was a disaster. Honestly, can we just pretend this month didn’t exist? Somehow a one week vacation stopped my writing in its tracks. I’m not sure how that happened, but this morning I got a new story idea. Hopefully that means I will be writing again by the end of the day 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey, vacations in Florida with a kid in tow would stop anyone writing for a while! Between prep, being there, and recovery, I would have been amazed if you’d had much writing time or motivation.

      But having a new story idea is wonderful 🙂 Good luck with getting some writing in today! Make March better, that’s the philosophy to go for.

      Like

Comments are closed.