Wednesday reading, 24 February 2016

Last book finished: I finished Interim Errantry by Diane Duane last night. It’s structured as two novellas and a novel, so it’s a hefty read, but it didn’t feel that long. The two shorter works were both lovely, light and fun, which was a big contrast to the longer work. While there were a lot of fun moments in the novel, Lifeboats was dealing in big world ending events rather than delightful Christmas parties, so it had to be more somber. It felt quite different from Duane’s other Young Wizards books, and the reason for that became apart in the afterword. She describes it as the book she couldn’t have got published through traditional means, because it’s all about being a small cog in the mechanism of a much bigger thing, rather than the focus. That’s an accurate summary: Kit, Nita, and friends are working with eighteen thousand other wizards to save a world. They’re not the stars of the intervention, they’re a part of it, and that changes their role. It’s quite different from other books in that way, and although that made it harder to read in places, it’s a book that I’m glad Duane wrote.

I also finished a reread of Shards of Honour by Lois McMaster Bujold, but I don’t think that I need to explain why I loved rereading a Cordelia book after last week’s review of Gentleman Jole!

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status.  

I was going to read something for my Hugo nominations research…but then the library happened to me. I’m reading my first contemporary romance in I-don’t-know-how-long, Taking the Heat by Victoria Dahl, and enjoying it more than I expected to.

After finishing Interim Errantry, I picked up A Queer Trade by KJ Charles, which is the prequel novella to a novel that’s coming out next week, Rag and Bone. It’s entirely possible that I’ll finish that tonight, because it’s fabulous. And then I’ll be impatient waiting for the novel to show up on my Kindle on Tuesday.

Next read: I’ve really got to read Karen Memory for my Hugo nominations consideration, before more preordered books fall on my doorstep. No more library accidents! No! Must not look…except for those holds that just came in. Oops.

