Wednesday reading, 17 February 2015

Last book finished: Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen by Lois McMaster Bujold. I adored it. You can read the incredibly spoilery (and long) squee I wrote about it here. Or you can take it from me that it’s wonderful, I adored it, and I highly recommend it. I’m not even sure you have to be familiar with the previous books to understand the story. Bujold gives enough explanation for references to make sense, although obviously long-time Bujold readers will find a lot more layers than new readers.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status.  

I’m into the meaty big novel length story in Interim Errantry, and as predicted, it’s going to break me. It’s a good thing we had all that lovely fluffy happiness in the other stories, because this one is all about a dying planet and wizards struggling to save the people, so it’s not going to be a happy story, I suspect.

I’m also reading Shards of Honour, because I needed to revisit Cordelia’s early days after reading GJatRQ.

Next read: I’ve really got to read Karen Memory for my Hugo nominations consideration, before more preordered books fall on my doorstep.

