Wednesday reading, 27 January 2015

Last book finished: Two books that weren’t as good as I wanted them to be, but in different ways and they gave me different feelings. The Devil’s Kiss by Sarwat Chadda was just plain old frustrating to me. It oversimplified the wrong things, focused too hard on the teen angst, and really didn’t do anything for me. The book is aimed at the young adult market, so perhaps it works much better for for the intended age group, but it’s not one that I’d recommend for the non-teen crowd.

Broken Homes by Ben Aaronovitch was also not as good as I’ve come to expect from the author, but that definitely did not make it a bad book. It was fun, pacey, and featured a final two chapters that took my breath away by being completely unexpected. My main complaint was that it felt a little disjointed at times, with things happening that didn’t always connect up in a cohesive way. That fault was more than made up for by the good stuff: Peter’s snarks about architecture, Peter’s growth, Nightgale giving intriguing hints about his past, Lesley being wonderful, and all the wonderful snark about police bureaucracy. Really, it’s all the asides and extra bits of information that really sell the world Aaronovitch has created and I’ll definitely be grabbing the next book soon.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status.  

I’m deep into The Magicians by Lev Grossman and loving it. The central character somehow manages to be simultaneously fascinating and an utter ass. But there’s a complexity to him that makes me want to know more and suspect that there’s something deeper going on that typical late teens/early twenties young man being an arsehole. In fact, the entire cast are intriguing in this way, and the world is inventive despite the clearly signalled sources. In other words, I’m loving it. The series started on Monday, but I’m saving it up on my DVR until I’ve finished the book.

My Kindle read is The Martian by Andy Weir. Why did I wait so long to read this?

Next read: For my paper book, it’s got to be one of my remaining library holds. Or Karen Memory if they don’t grab me, because Hugo nominations open soon and I want to know whether it’s something that I’ll want to nominate. For my Kindle read, I might be back in a romance-seeking place. Maybe.

