Wednesday reading, 20 January 2015

Last book finished: I’m going to breeze right past the romance novella that I kind of went ‘meh’ at, and move right onto The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher, which I was much more enthusiastic about. It’s his first venture into steampunk and it’s a bit of a tome, but he held my interest all the way through and I found the final chapters impossible to put down. His characters were vivid, he made me like characters that I started out finding totally irritating, and he answered enough questions to leave me satisfied but wanting more. What really sold me was the world building: it’s integral to the plot and it’s the element that I was itching for more on, because there’s clearly a history to it all that’s important. I’ll definitely be reading the next one in this series.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. This will always be my status.  

The two books that I’m reading are, yet again, polar opposites in how I feel about them. They’re both urban fantasy, but I’m getting increasingly frustrated by The Devil’s Kiss by Sarwat Chadda and loving Broken Homes by Ben Aaronovitch. The problem with the first may be that it’s a young adult and the author is over-simplifying the parts I feel need more depth and focusing too heavily on the teenage angst element. The Aaronovitch is a new installment in a series that I like and it’s moving at exactly the right pace for me. The Chadda isn’t a bad book and it’ll probably play really well to its intended audience, but it’s leaving me frustrated.

Next read: For my paper book, it’s got to be The Magicians, partially because it’s a library hold and partially because the TV adaptation starts soon. On my Kindle, I have no idea! There’s a big backlog of books to read, so it’s going to be whatever I’m in the mood for when I finish Broken Homes.

4 thoughts on “Wednesday reading, 20 January 2015

Comments are closed.