Wednesday reading, 6 January 2016

For the first time in 2016, what have I been reading?

Last book finished: Once Upon a Marquess by Courtney Milan was a terrific way to start the year. Milan writes the kind of historical romance that makes my heart happy. Smart, funny, with protagonists you want to see happy and plot-lines that don’t rely on characters mysteriously never conveying one simple bit of information for conflict. The plots for both hero and heroine are complex, interesting, and don’t have an easy resolution, which makes the ending that bit more satisfying. Her main characters never fall into simple cliches and Milan’s women always do things with their lives and their romances never stop them doing it. This was the first in the series, so Milan introduces various secondary characters that you know will be stars of their own novels, but she does it organically and leaves us wanting to know them. That’s how you start a series, folks!

Also, there are gay swans. You’ll need to read it to understand why that’s awesome.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. I’m around halfway through The Aeronaut’s Windlass and it’s managing to get better with each chapter, so I suspect this may end up being one of my favourite reads this year.

Next read: I should definitely read a library book. Most importantly, the library hold that came in at the weekend, because having to renew a hold is ridiculous. For my Kindle read, I can’t decide whether I’m in the mood for more romance or something else, which is why I have nothing on the go there right now. I’m sure I’ll pick something tonight. Maybe.

