Top Reads of 2015

It’s that time of year when we all start making round up posts and promises for next year. The hardest part, for me, is picking what I loved most about my reading last year.

At the beginning of 2015, I set a goal of reading 75 books during the year. I’ve been recording and tracking my reading for a few years now, through the 75 books groups on LibraryThing and through GoodReads. I’ll post a link to my 2016 challenges when I make a goals post.

I finished my 75th book on Monday, which was a relief because I was starting to think that I wouldn’t get there. Usually I read closer to 80 or 90 books in a year, but I’d set a lower bar for this year because I knew that it was going to be busy, and I would have been frustrated not to even get that far.

Out of all those books, what did I love the most? What really stood out for me? It’s so difficult, because I felt like this year was a really strong year for books and publishing. So many of my favourites were new books in 2015, and I don’t think it’s just that I was making a bigger effort to keep up with books as they came out. It seemed like there were constant releases of amazing books by established and debut authors, sometimes multiple books on the same release day. I can’t remember the last time this many fantastic books came out in one year. It has made picking out five favourites very difficult.

So I cheated a little and picked my top five, plus my five runners-up that I couldn’t not mention.

My five picks (in the order I read them)

The Goblin Emperor – Katherine Addison *
Uprooted – Naomi Novik
Carry On – Rainbow Rowell
Sorcerer to the Crown – Zen Cho
Ancillary Mercy – Anne Leckie

Runners-up

Prudence – Gail Carriger
The Three-Body Problem – Liu Cixin *
The Traitor Baru Cormorant – Seth Dickinson
Think of England – KJ Charles *
A Darker Shade of Magic – V. E. Schwab

(* denotes a book not published in 2015)

There were a couple of novellas that I had to mention, too:

Penric’s Demon – Lois McMaster Bujold
Quarter Days – Iona Sharma

So there it is, my favourite…twelve reads of the year. Do you have a list of top reads for this year?

