Wednesday reading, 16 December 2015

Last book finished: Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho, which is utterly delightful and highly recommended. I have a small crush on Prunella, who manages to be charming and funny and totally badass all at once. Clearly a heroine after my own heart. The other POV character, Zacharias, is interesting and sympathetic, so I was cheering for both of them by the end and loving the way they interacted throughout. And yes, it does have a plot, a rather good one. It’s Regency fiction with magic, which I love, and felt a bit like what Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell could have been with better pacing and a more interesting cast. I’m really hoping that Zen Cho returns to this world, because I want to explore it more. She didn’t leave any irritating dangling threads, but she did leave room for more stories, which is hopeful.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. That may be my status forever. My Kindle read is Slightly Scandalous, by Mary Balogh. My binge of historical romances continues apace.

I went for Chimera by Mira Grant from my TBR shelf. It’s nice to pick up a book that I know I’ll enjoy, and I wasn’t wrong. The only problem is that it’s a bad bedtime book. Not because the zombies are scary, but because it wakes up my brain and makes me thinky, which is never good when I’m supposed to be going to bed! I think I’ll have to let Mary Balogh sooth me to sleep from now on.

Next read: I haven’t the first clue. I’ve got so many books on Mount TBR that are all calling to me, and my unread collection on the Kindle is almost as bad. It’s going to all come down to how I feel when I finish Chimera and Slightly Scandalous, and what kind of story I need next.

