Wednesday reading, 9 December 2015

Last book finished: A Fashionable Indulgence by KJ Charles, which managed to combine a great m/m romance with a plot around the political unrest in Regency England, without ever feeling clunky or convoluted. That’s pretty impressive, I have to say. When historical romances try to tackle issues of the time, it either works brilliantly or gets convoluted and over-egged. This one got the balance just right.

I seem to be on a run of good fiction. My other great find this week was a new novella by Iona Sharma, Quarter Days published on GigaNotoSaurus, which was utterly delightful. I loved the world she’s built, her characters felt fresh, and the plot used all of that to great effect.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. That may be my status forever. My Kindle read is Slightly Scandalous, by Mary Balogh. My binge of historical romances continues apace.

I’m nearing the end of Sorcerer to the Crown and I can tell that I’m loving it because I simultaneously need to know the ending and don’t want it to end. In my experience, that’s always a good sign of whether a book will stick with me.

Next read: The dead tree read is going to be impossible to pick until I know how Sorcerer leaves me. There’s too much choice and they’re all going to be great. This year has been such a terrific year for good new reads that I’m spoiled for choice! My Kindle read will be easier: I’m on a historical romance kick and Courtney Milan’s new book just came out. Obviously, I’ll be loading that up pronto.