Wednesday…er, Thursday reading, 12 November 2015

Happy Wednesday! What? Shh, it’s totally Wednesday. Ish. I mean, it’s within a few hours of Wednesday, so it totally counts.

Last book finished: Due to a rotten cold, I got a fair bit of reading in over the last couple of days. This is also my excuse for the late reading post. Ahem.

The Magpie Lord by KJ Charles was an entertaining historical fantasy with a strong m/m subplot. Predictably, I gobbled it up. Not quite as charming as The Ruin of Gabriel Asleigh, but definitely a good read that I struggled to put down. And immediately bought the sequel to because Kindle makes that kind of behaviour far too easy.

And I finished Ancillary Mercy by Anne Leckie! It was fantastic. Maybe my favourite of the entire series. So much happened and Leckie surprised me several times. The only problem is that I’ve been left hoping she’ll write more in that universe. Maybe another trilogy set in the <redacted due to spoilers>.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. That may be my status forever. There is clearly something wrong with me, because I started to get Sorcerer to the Crown down from the shelf…and my hand fell on Rabid instead. Because reading about the history of rabies is absolutely the sensible thing to do and excellent bedtime reading. Er.

My bedtime read is A Case of Possession by KJ Charles. Trust me, it’s way less disturbing than rabies.

Next read: OMG SORCERER TO THE CROWN. Nothing will stop me this time.

