Wednesday reading, 4 November 2015

Last book finished: A novelette by KJ Charles, The Ruin of Gabriel Ashleigh. It’s the introductory novel for her “Society of Gentlemen” series and, uh, yes. Very yes. It’s a short historical m/m romance and somehow the author managed to pack several of my favourite tropes into around 45 pages without making it feel rushed or overcrowded. And she wrote an excellent sex scene. I’m going to be picking up the rest of the series pronto.

My other short fiction read was In Morningstar’s Shadow by Aliette de Bodard, a collection of three shorts set in the same universe as House of Shattered Wings. It’s nice to get those extras, but it’s definitely only for people who read and enjoyed the novel.

I finally finished Hue and Cry by Shirley McKay, too. It’s a serviceable medieval mystery set in St Andrews in Scotland. Entertaining enough, and definitely not one where I wanted my time back after, but not a book that made me immediately want to push it at everyone.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. That may be my status forever. Ancillary Mercy is awesome. That’s all I can say. Loving it and having trouble putting it down to sleep. My Kindle read is The Magpie Lord by KJ Charles, because I seem to be on a roll with her books.

Next read: OMG SORCERER TO THE CROWN. As soon as I finish Ancillary Mercy.

