NaNoWriMo day 4 (already? How is time going so fast?)

Yup, it’s day four of NaNoWriMo. And I haven’t got behind on the word count goals yet!

I am trying to be okay with the possibility that it might happen, but I’m currently managing to write a little over the daily goal so that I build up a cushion against future bad days.

They happen. It’s pointless to pretend they don’t.

The novelette that I’m trying to get finished as the first part of the challenge is finally running smoothly today. Making myself sit down and write it (instead of being tempted away by shiny things) has actually been really helpful, and even if I don’t get anything else done, at least NaNo will have forced me to get out a first draft. A lot of it is bad, but that’s what editing is for.

Today, I hit the start of the end, and what I wrote felt good for the first time. Big action scenes are kind of my thing, particularly if there’s some emotional punch to them, too, and this one is going to be fun. Maybe that’s why I keep blowing stuff up in novels when I get stuck: the action scenes get my writing mojo renewed. At this rate, I should finish the draft on Friday, and then I can get started on the other project: the novel about gay magical spies kicking arse (and each other, and then falling for each others in the classic rivals to lovers trope). I need a shorter working title than that 🙂

So far, my schedule involves writing for twenty minutes at lunch and then for however long after work it takes to get where I want to be. I write on an iPad with a keyboard, partially because it allows me to write wherever I am, and partially because I can easily shut off the Internet and write without distraction. Whenever I have the desktop on, I copy what I’ve written over to Scrivener. It’s much easier to organise everything in Scriv, but there isn’t an iPad app (yet) so I churn out raw words in MS Word.

So, that’s my NaNo so far. How are you doing?

10 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo day 4 (already? How is time going so fast?)

  1. Glad to hear your sticking it out! I’ve been writing fast an furious. It’s been months since I did any writing. It seems my writing time is boiling down to 430-600am. Days are filled with packing to move, finding new digs, etc. that go with new job.

    Like

    1. Wow, that’s a busy schedule for you! I admire anyone who can write that early in the morning. Doesn’t it feel good when the words are flowing well enough to write that fast?

      Like

  2. I am ahead of where NaNo says I should be, but behind my own target word count. Basically I am exactly where I expected to be at this point, and that is good enough for me.

    Like

    1. If you’re doing NaNo, you should be able to access a trial version of Scrivener. I’ve found it really good for organising my work and outputting everything in the right formats at the end.

      And if you reach the end of the trial and you don’t like it, you can always compile your work as a Word doc to export and export any other notes you’ve made, and try something else.

      Like

Comments are closed.