Wednesday reading, 21 October 2015

Last book finished: I finished The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson and it was fantastic. I mentioned last week that it had grabbed me from page one with its poly family and hints of impending colonialism discussion, and it delivered in space. More than that, it explored intersectional sexuality, empire building, prejudice, politics, and the progress versus oppression dilemma empires bring. It’s a multi-layered book that never lost my interest, thanks to a sympathetic (if not always likeable) protagonist and a compelling plot. It was one of those books that left me gasping at the end, reeling in shock and chewing on all the meaty ideas it had explored. I get why there was so much hype about this book, and it’s going down as one of my top reads of the year.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. That may be my status forever. Hue and Cry is still an entertaining mystery, but my Kindle time has been very limited over the last week, so I’m still in it.

Carry On won the “what would I read next” battle and I’ve been struggling to put it down to do other things. Such a fun book!

Next read: Probably Ancillary Mercy, because I’m hearing so much good about it. And then I’ll finally get to Sorcerer to the Crown, yay!

