Wednesday reading, 15 October 2015

Before I discuss the books, any regular LibraryThing readers may be interested to know there’s now an iPhone/iPod app for it. Still very much in beta, but the basic functionality is there and it’s pretty smooth, particularly the searching. And best of all, you can catalogue using barcodes right inside the app. Now that’s going to make cataloguing new arrivals easier! The search ease should also help me to not buy books that I already have when browsing in bookstores. That happens more often than you’d think…

Last book finished: Nothing in the last week, but that’s what happens when you’re reading two long books and Thanksgiving happens.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. That may be my status forever. I’m loving The Traitor Baru Cormorant. It grabbed me from the first page, with its poly family and hints of impending colonialism discussion, and hasn’t disappointed me yet. I’m also reading Hue and Cry, a historical mystery set in medieval St. Andrews. It makes a pleasant change from the usual London settings and I was in the mood for a good mystery as my Kindle read.

Next read: Obviously, it has to be from Mount TBR. Will Ancillary Mercy win? Or Carry On? Or will I finally read Sorcerer to the Crown? Who knows! Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Wednesday reading, 15 October 2015

  1. I love your reading posts. If I read more I would post my own version. I guess I could post updates biweekly or monthly instead of weekly. This requires some thought.

    Like

    1. You should do it! There’s no reason a post like this has to be weekly – you could do a monthly recap post or something. It’s an interesting process to think about what I’m reading, and why, and what I want to read.

      Like

Comments are closed.