Wednesday reading, 7 October 2015

Last book finished: Look at me–I finished some books! First up, there was When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare, which I enjoyed a lot, although I can’t give it an unqualified recommendation. It gets too close to the edge of reasonable pursuit (within the arranged marriage trope) and although it never tips over into non-con or rape, I can easily see that it would be problematic for anyone with rape triggers. Hence, I can’t give it an unqualified recommendation, even though I admired the way Dare slid away from the edge and turned those scenes into something else. For anyone without that trigger, it’s not the strongest in her Castles Ever After, but I did enjoy it. As with all of these books, the heroine has a story and life of her own, one that she doesn’t have to give up in order to find love and happiness. That’s what I’ve been enjoying about this series: the heroines don’t have to depend on their heros, and both partners learn how to make their lives together without having to give up their dreams.

My other read was The Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig (at last, I can hear people saying) and that one does get an unqualified recommendation from me. I’d been reluctant to read it initially, afraid that the author’s poetry background might result in turgid overwritten prose, but I shouldn’t have worried. The writing is fresh and sharp, and she pulled me into the story on the first page. If I hadn’t been in the middle of a couple of ridiculously busy weeks, I probably would have finished this in a couple of days. Haig writes an interesting new story in an over-done genre–YA post-apocalyptic dystopias–and I’m looking forward to the next book in the trilogy.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. That may be my status forever. The Traitor Cormorant Baru just arrived in the library for me, so I’ve picked that up, because it’s silly to put a book on hold and not read it. Silly. Particularly when it’s a book that everyone has raved about so hard.

Next read: The pre-orders are piling up and it’s getting so hard to pick. I want to read all of them. Sorcerer to the Crown has been waiting too long, but Carry On by Rainbow Rowell and Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie arrived yesterday, and they’re both so tempting. Book choices are difficult, okay? I am making myself a new rule: no more library books until I’ve read all three books. My TBR mountain is getting ridiculous.

