Wednesday reading, 30 September 2015

Last book finished: Er, there isn’t one. Most of last weekend was lost to a migraine, and I’ve been frantically editing a bunch of things in the evening when I haven’t had an ice pick in my brain. My reading time got massively curtailed by these elements. Damn.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. That may be my status forever. It took a couple of chapters, but I’m now thoroughly enjoying The Fire Sermon, so I will probably have that finished soon. Post-apocalyptic dystopias aren’t my usual fare, which is why it took me so long to sit down with it, but it got talked about so much earlier this year that I had to try it. Looks like I made a good choice. My Kindle reading is When a Scot Ties the Knot, which I’m thoroughly enjoying. There was a moment when I thought that Tessa Dare had done something in the story that was going to make me angry, but I should have had more faith after the previous two books in this series. She sidled up to the trope, threatened to go there…and swung off into an entirely different direction that delighted me.

Next read: I’m not allowed to pick up any more library books after I finish The Fire Sermon. I need to read Sorcerer to the Crown. I’m chomping at the bit. Also, I have a couple of other preorders arriving shortly, and I refuse to get behind on them!

