Wednesday reading, 15 September 2015

Last book finished: I finished actual books! Throw the confetti! One Salt Sea by Seanan McGuire had me completely gripped at the end. When I finished the previous book, it felt like she’d made some radical shifts in the world she’d created. This book was about making radical shifts in the relationships between Toby and other characters, which I suspect will have even bigger repercussions than the changes to Toby’s blood. The exploration of a new part of Faery was fascinating, which kept the “Toby must rescue kids again” plot from feeling too repetitive. Although I am hoping Toby doesn’t get called in to track down kidnapped kids again for a while. Three times might be hard to pull off. It was a little slow in places, but the ending more than made up for that.

The House of Shattered Wings by Aliette de Bodard was my other finished read this week and it was brilliant. Gorgeous world building and a good plot, with protagonists who were sympathetic even if the weren’t always particularly likable. It took me a while to like Selene, and in the end, it was her relationship with Emmanuelle that changed my mind on her. She’s a hard character, one who had to make difficult choices and wear a specific mask to be the leader her House needed. Although Emmanuelle is never a POV character, the way Selene behaves around and towards her is what softens Selene into a character that you’re rooting for by the end. It was easy to root for characters like Isabelle and Madeleine, because they wore their damage so close to the surface. Selene was much more difficult. In his way, Philippe was difficult, too, but he was also the character who pulled me into the story fastest. It was a fascinating book that wasn’t always easy to read, but felt satisfying each time I went back to it.

Current read: I had all these intentions…and then I went to the new library and accidentally brought home four books. So I’m currently reading The Fire Sermon because it seemed like the most urgent one to read from that stack, and I always feel guilty about returning books to the library without reading them.

Next read: I will cry if something else gets in the way of reading Sorcerer to the Crown. No more library visits for me until I’ve read it. On my Kindle, it’ll be either When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare or Slightly Scandalous by Mary Balogh. I feel the need for happy fluffy romance.

