Two things make a Friday post – 28 August 2015

In which I talk about things I have watched this week:

Deep Space 9, S3 ep 17: Visionary 

I’ve been casually rewatching DS9 for a while, because it’s amazing when it’s good and I never got to watch S7 when it was first on. Season 3 is where things started really gelling for the show, with deeper storylines and the Dominion threat becoming really prominent. There are some good episodes here.

This…isn’t one of them. It’s not S1 levels of terrible, and there are some good parts, but it’s time travel. It’s rare to see any show do time travel well, and while this is better than some, there is a section towards the end that just doesn’t work. I have to handwave it as some kind of alternate universe jumping because otherwise the entire plot collapses. Which is a shame, because the political bits with the Romulans are great.

Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation

So good, I saw the first half twice!

Er, actually, I saw the first half twice due to a power cut shutting down the cinema, so I had to go back and try again. They gave me free passes to do it, so it wasn’t a hardship.

And the first half was still great the second time. Thankfully, the second half was also great. Not award-winning, but solid fun with some amazing action sequences and the kind of spy capers you go to these movies for. It even had some good doses of humour – not just from Simon Pegg – and I’m still humming bits of the sound track hours later.

Definitely worth the price of admission.

