Wednesday Books, 26 August 2015

Last book finished: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. It took me a while to get into this book, but so many people had told me that I’d love it that I kept going, and somewhere around the 100 page mark, it suddenly pinged for me. It’s not going onto my top reads of the year list, but I enjoyed it and will definitely be reading the others in the series.

I also read Cat Pictures Please by Naomi Kritzer, which was a fun story that made me laugh a little. An AI who wants to make the world better and its only request is plenty of cat pictures on the Internet – it’s an AI after my own heart.

Current read: Still working on Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. It’s short but dense. I’m also reading House of Shattered Wings by Aliette de Bodard, which is a novel that I’ve been excited about for months. And I started Think of England by KJ Charles in my Kindle, because sometimes a fun m/m romance is exactly what I need as a break from serious stuff and it’s much more portable than a big hardcover!

Next read: I’d like to say that I’ll be tackling my huge TBR stack, but let’s be honest here. Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho comes out on September 1st, and I won’t be able to resist cracking it open, particularly if it arrives just as I finish the de Bodard.

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Books, 26 August 2015

  1. I just finished “The Raven Boys”! It was my first read in quite a while. I had sort of the same issue. I enjoyed it, but I admit it took me a while to get into the groove.

    Like

    • It wasn’t just me–phew! 🙂 It was good once I got into it, but it didn’t grab me immediately. If so many people hadn’t recced it to me, I might not have got past the third chapter.

      Like

Comments are closed.