Wednesday books

Last book finished: Ironskin by Tina Connelly. I enjoyed it, but not enough to swing from the rafters, declaring that everyone needs to read it. The ending felt rushed, which was a shame after a really lovely slow build earlier in the book. It’s a retelling of Jane Eyre, in a fantasy world recovering from a devastating war with the fey, and that is probably why it left me a little cold: my eternal dislike for Jane Eyre. For anyone who genuinely adores JE, you’ll probably love this book.

Current read: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater and Russian History: A Very Short Introduction. Yeah, my reading tastes are a little…mixed.

Next read: I bought half a dozen books on Kindle for my recent trip to England and only got through a couple of books that I already owned and hadn’t read, so I’ve still got all those books. Plus the huge stack of books that followed me home from England. Between free swag from Nine Worlds plus significant accidents in Foyles and Blackwells, Mount TBR is looking worrying. Which makes picking out my next book a wee bit challenging. Far too much choice.

